Did you buy a new car in Massachusetts or recently move there with a vehicle registered in another state? Here’s what you need to do to register your vehicle in Massachusetts.
Five Steps To Register Your Car in Massachusetts
To register your car in Massachusetts, follow these steps:
- Fill out the registration application. Add your information to the registration and title application, and make sure you have proof of ownership.
- Buy car insurance. Get an active auto insurance policy from a licensed Massachusetts agent. The agent must stamp and sign your application to register your vehicle.
- Visit the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). Submit your documents in person at an RMV Service Center.
- Pay the registration fee and sales tax. Massachusetts requires a title fee and a registration fee based on the license plate type. You’ll also have to pay a 6.25% sales tax unless you transfer your registration from another state.
- Get a vehicle inspection. After registering your car at the RMV, you have seven days to obtain a vehicle inspection sticker at an official inspection station.
You’ll receive your registration certificate and new license plates at the RMV. Your title will come in the mail in about six weeks.
Do you need insurance to register a car in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts requires every driver to have car insurance before registering their vehicle. A licensed car insurance agent must sign and stamp your vehicle registration and title application before you can submit your paperwork.
Drivers in Massachusetts must have four types of auto insurance coverage to meet the minimum requirements:
- $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident in bodily injury liability
- $8,000 per person, per accident in personal injury protection (PIP)
- $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
- $5,000 per accident in property damage liability
How much does it cost to register a car in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts vehicle registration fees typically cost $135 for a standard passenger vehicle. If you just purchased your car, you’ll also have to pay a 6.25% sales tax based on the amount you paid.
The vehicle registration fees in Massachusetts consist of:
- One-time title fee. $75
- Biennial registration fee. $60
- Sales tax. 6.25% of your car’s purchase price
Your registration fee will be higher if you have vanity plates or other special circumstances. You also have to renew some types of registration annually rather than every two years.
You’ll also need to get a vehicle inspection to complete your registration. The Massachusetts vehicle inspection typically costs $35.
The Bottom Line on Registering a Car in Massachusetts
Registering and insuring your vehicle correctly is essential to protect you and your vehicle from penalties and high accident costs. Massachusetts drivers must have an insurance agent stamp and sign their application to register their vehicle, emphasizing the importance of car insurance coverage.