How to register a car in Illinois


Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
writter logo
Written by
Freelance Writer
reviewer logo
Reviewed by
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent
UPDATED: 2020-04-08T19:24:11.110Z
Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.
Cars driving on a highway into Chicago, Illinois, during the day.

As a current state resident of Illinois or as a potential new resident of Illinois, you are required by law to register your vehicle. This blog includes instructions and guidelines to follow on how to register a car in Illinois, including what materials you will need in order to successfully register your vehicle. All vehicle registrations go through the Illinois Secretary of State’s office (SOS office).

Why do I need to register my car in Illinois?

You are required to register your car because it’s the law in the state of Illinois. All cars, whether it be for personal use or business use, need to be registered. A car registration is proof that you’ve paid the associated fees and taxes for owning a car. It is required in order to legally drive your car. If you do not have an Illinois car registration, you would likely face penalties that could include fines or vehicle impoundment.

What is the cost of registering my car in Illinois?

There are a few fees that go along with registering your Illinois car. The following are the fees that you may be required to pay to get an Illinois car registration:

-It costs between $151 and $164 for a vehicle registration fee, depending on the type of vehicle you own.

  • Passenger vehicle: $151
  • B-Truck: $151
  • Motorcycle: $41
  • Car/truck with vanity or personalized plate: $164 -$50 title fee -Taxes (this varies so make sure to contact the Secretary of State’s office for further detail)

To learn more about specific fees attached to a certain type of vehicle, please visit the Illinois Secretary of State website.

What is required to register a car in Illinois?

In order to register your car, you’ll need certain documents. You will need to bring these with you when you go to the Secretary of State’s office to register your car.

What you will need to register your car in Illinois:

  • Proof of Illinois car insurance
  • Valid ID (passport, state license, driver’s license)
  • Vehicle title
  • Application for Vehicle Transaction form (VSD 190)
  • Odometer disclosure information
  • Registration Fee

Without these items, you won’t be able to register your car. Make sure to double check that you have everything before you begin the process.

How do I register my vehicle if it’s registered in another state?

If you have recently moved to Illinois and have a car that was purchased in a different state, you are required to change your out-of-state license plate to an Illinois one. In order register your car in a different state than it was purchased from, you may be required to have the following items:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Valid ID (Passport, state ID, driver’s license)
  • Previous registration
  • Registration Fee

Car insurance requirements to register a car in Illinois

All cars are required to have car insurance in order to be registered in Illinois. When you register your car, you will need to have proof of Illinois car insurance.

There are minimum limits required that are set by the state. You will need to purchase at least the following forms of coverage and limits for your car insurance:

Liability Insurance:

  • Bodily injury per person ($25,000)
  • Bodily injury and per accident ($50,000)
  • Property damage ($20,000)

Bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist Insurance:

  • $25,000 per person
  • $50,000 per accident

While these are the minimum car insurance coverages and limits required in Illinois, it’s often recommended by insurance agents to purchase additional coverage in order to receive more protection. In addition to liability car insurance, consider purchasing other coverage options like collision and comprehensive insurance.

In order to find the best price on car insurance in Illinois, you can shop around and get quotes from multiple different companies. Be sure to visit Clearsurance’s Illinois car insurance rankings page to see the top-rated companies in your zip code.

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes

Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly

ZIP Code must be filled out!

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption


The content on this site is offered only as a public service to the web community and does not constitute solicitation or provision of legal advice. This site should not be used as a substitute for obtaining legal advice from an insurance company or an attorney licensed or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. You should always consult a suitably qualified attorney regarding any specific legal problem or matter. The comments and opinions expressed on this site are of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of the insurance company or any individual attorney.

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption