What You Should Know
- States sometimes require drivers to submit proof that they meet minimum insurance requirements with an SR-22 form before they can get their licenses reinstated
- Although some companies will drop drivers if they need SR-22 insurance, most major companies offer coverage
- SR-22 insurance will cause your rates to increase by about 18%
States sometimes require SR-22 insurance after serious traffic violations, like a DUI or multiple at-fault accidents. Although it’s referred to as a type of insurance, it’s not actually coverage for your car.
Instead, SR-22 car insurance means your local DMV requires you to prove that you carry at least your state’s minimum coverage requirements. You’ll likely need to submit an SR-22 form before you can get your license reinstated. Failing to do so can result in fines and further license suspension.
SR-22 insurance costs about 18% more than a policy for a driver with a clean record, but filing SR-22 forms is integral to getting back on the road legally.
Although your rates will be higher, finding the most affordable coverage doesn’t have to be a challenge. Most major insurance companies are willing to work with drivers who need SR-22 insurance.
Explore your options for SR-22 auto insurance below, then compare companies to find the best coverage rates for your needs.
What is SR-22 insurance?
When you hear the term “SR-22 insurance,” it’s not referring to a type of coverage. Instead, an SR-22 is a form your state DMV requires certain drivers to submit as proof of insurance.
Also called an SR-22 bond or a certificate of financial responsibility, SR-22 forms prove that you carry your state’s minimum insurance requirements. Laws vary by state, but most DMVs require drivers to submit SR-22 forms after serious traffic violations.
Drivers usually have to submit SR-22 forms before getting their license reinstated, meaning they won’t be able to drive until they have insurance. You won’t have to learn how to file SR-22 forms by yourself — DMVs typically require a licensed insurance company to file on your behalf.
Once you no longer need your SR-22 insurance, make sure to call a representative. Most companies don’t automatically drop your coverage, but a representative can easily remove it from your policy.
What is FR-44 insurance?
FR-44 insurance is another type of proof of financial responsibility required by Virginia and Florida. FR-44 forms work similarly to SR-22s but usually require more coverage.
For a state without minimum insurance, Virginia FR-44 insurance requirements are relatively steep. Virginia drivers need the following insurance to satisfy an FR-44 requirement:
- Bodily injury liability — $60,000 per person
- Bodily injury liability — $120,000 per accident
- Property damage liability — $40,000 per accident
Florida has minimum insurance laws but requires much more coverage to satisfy an Florida FR-44 insurance form. Floridians must carry the following:
- Bodily injury liability — $100,000 per person
- Bodily injury liability — $300,000 per accident
- Property damage liability — $50,000 per accident
Aside from higher coverage requirements, FR-44 insurance works the same as SR-22. An insurance company must file for you, and you won’t be able to reinstate your license without submitting proof.
What happens if you drive without SR-22 insurance?
Driving without SR-22 insurance after your DMV has ordered you to submit it can result in severe consequences. Laws vary by state, but the most common consequences of driving without SR-22 insurance include the following:
- Registration suspension
- License revocation
- Arrest and jail time
As you’ll see below, each state has a set amount of time you’ll have to submit SR-22 forms. If you’re caught driving without SR-22 insurance or let your coverage lapse, your time will restart. At that point, you’ll be stuck filing SR-22 insurance for even longer.
Another consequence of driving without SR-22 insurance is that your insurance rates will skyrocket. Drivers who fail to maintain SR-22 coverage and drive without insurance are often considered high-risk drivers, and many standard insurance companies will not work with them.
When do you need to get SR-22 insurance?
The most common way you’ll get an SR-22 order is from a court or your state’s DMV. Either a judge will notify you, or you’ll receive a letter in the mail.
Regardless of how you’re notified, most states require drivers to get SR-22 insurance after serious traffic offenses. However, each state has its own guidelines for when a driver must file SR-22 insurance.
The most common reasons you need to get SR-22 include:
- DUI/DWI charge
- Causing an accident when you don’t have insurance
- Causing too many accidents
- Repeat offenses
- Serious infractions, like reckless driving
- Skipping court-ordered child support payments
- After a license suspension or revocation
- Hardship licenses, which allow you to drive for limited periods with a suspended license so you can go to work
No matter what reason you need SR-22 insurance, it’s vital that you follow your state’s laws. However, you don’t need to handle everything by yourself. It’s helpful to familiarize yourself with your state’s SR-22 laws, but your insurance company will know exactly what you need.
SR-22 Insurance Requirements by State
SR-22 laws are fairly straightforward. Drivers generally need to submit proof of financial responsibility for three years without letting their coverage lapse. Since SR-22 forms are filed regularly, your insurance company will notify the DMV if you stop paying for your coverage.
As long as you keep your record clean of additional violations and maintain coverage, you’ll be able to drop your SR-22 insurance. You can check your state’s SR-22 specifics below.
|State||Minimum SR-22 Filing Period|
|Massachussets||Varies by record|
|New Hampshire||3 years|
|North Dakota||1 year|
|South Carolina||3 years|
|South Dakota||3 years|
|Washington, D.C.||3 years|
You might notice that 12 states — including Delaware, Kentucky, and Maryland — don’t require SR-22 insurance. Some states have other forms to submit, such as an FR-44 or FR-19, while others don’t need continuous submission of proof.
How do you get SR-22 insurance?
Getting SR-22 insurance is relatively easy, especially if you already have a policy.
For drivers with a policy, your first step should be to talk to a representative from your company. Some companies drop drivers when they need SR-22 insurance, but most will work with you. Simply tell the representative that you need SR-22 insurance, and they’ll set it up for you.
If you don’t have insurance, finding SR-22 coverage isn’t as easy as finding a standard policy, but it can be done. When you apply for a quote, inform the company that you’ll need SR-22 insurance. You might see a few rejected applications, and your rates will be higher, but finding coverage shouldn’t be too challenging.
How do you get SR-22 insurance without a vehicle?
Most drivers who need SR-22 insurance have their license suspended until they can prove they meet the state minimum requirements. If you don’t have insurance, you’ll need to buy a new policy before getting your license back.
What happens if you need to reinstate your license but don’t own a car? Insurance companies won’t sell you a policy for a vehicle you don’t own, so you’ll need to find an alternative option.
Luckily, there’s a simple solution. While most insurance policies follow the car and not the driver, you can insure yourself with a non-owner car insurance policy.
Non-owner insurance covers you when you drive someone else’s vehicle. It also meets SR-22 requirements, so you can get your license reinstated. Non-owner insurance comes with another perk — it’s cheaper than a standard policy.
How much is SR-22 insurance?
Although getting SR-22 insurance is relatively simple, it costs more than a standard policy.
Insurance companies consider it a risk when a driver needs SR-22 coverage. To compensate for the increased risk, companies charge higher rates, even if you already have a policy. You can check the average price of SR-22 insurance below, but remember that your rates will vary by your unique circumstances.
|Insurance Company||Rates with a DUI||Rates with an Accident|
Keep in mind that your rates will also increase for other infractions. For example, car insurance rates after a DUI can increase up to 70%. No matter what caused you to need SR-22 insurance, it will probably make your coverage more expensive.
An additional cost you’ll incur when you need SR-22 insurance is a monthly filing fee. Since DMVs require licensed insurance agents to file your SR-22 forms, you’ll likely be charged a fee. Most companies charge between $15 and $25 to file your SR-22 forms.
Best Insurance Companies for SR-22
Finding cheap SR-22 insurance is a bit more difficult than a standard policy, but it’s not impossible. Consider the following companies in your search for affordable SR-22 insurance:
These companies sell insurance throughout the country, but you might be able to find cheaper coverage by choosing something local. For example, Wawanesa offers affordable SR-22 coverage, but only in California and Oregon.
How to Find the Right SR-22 Insurance
Nobody wants to file SR-22 insurance with their local DMV, but it’s not as much of a hassle as you might think. Although you'll pay more for your insurance, you can find affordable SR-22 coverage with a bit of searching.
One of the most critical steps in finding affordable coverage is comparing quotes, especially when you need help with SR-22 coverage. Use our insurance tool above to compare quotes from as many companies as possible to ensure you get the best rates.
Frequently Asked Questions About SR-22 Insurance
Still have questions about SR-22 insurance? Learn more below.
What is the difference between SR-22 and FR-44?
SR-22 and FR-44 forms work similarly, the main difference being that FR-44 usually requires higher coverage limits. FR-44 is only required in Virginia and Florida, whereas SR-22 insurance is required in more states.
What does SR-22 cover for insurance?
Since SR-22 insurance isn’t actually a type of coverage, it doesn’t cover anything. Instead, SR-22 insurance is a form you file with the DMV that proves you carry your state’s minimum insurance requirements.
How do you get SR-22 insurance if you don’t have a car?
Getting SR-22 insurance without a vehicle is simple — a non-owner policy will satisfy your local DMV and provide you with insurance in any car you drive.
How much does an SR-22 increase the price of insurance?
Every company is different, but the average driver will see an increase of about 18%. However, you’ll also have to pay a filing fee each time you need a form filed.
How do you remove SR-22 insurance?
Once your required time for filing SR-22 insurance is complete, your insurance company probably won’t automatically drop it. Once you no longer need it, call an insurance representative and ask them to remove the SR-22 from your plan.
The content on this site is offered only as a public service to the web community and does not constitute solicitation or provision of legal advice. This site should not be used as a substitute for obtaining legal advice from an insurance company or an attorney licensed or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. You should always consult a suitably qualified attorney regarding any specific legal problem or matter. The comments and opinions expressed on this site are of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of the insurance company or any individual attorney.