- In some states, a DUI will stay on your record for a minimum of five years
- A DUI can remain on your driving record indefinitely in several states
- Purchasing car insurance after getting a DUI can be difficult and expensive
If you’ve recently received a DUI conviction, you may have a lot of things to deal with. Along with having your driver’s license suspended, you will likely have to pay a substantial fine and potentially even serve jail time.
When you get your license back after getting a DUI, you will need to purchase auto insurance on your vehicle. But finding the best and cheapest car insurance company to cover you after you’ve received a conviction of driving under the influence isn’t always easy.
Your DUI conviction will remain on your driving record for five years in some states. However, several states allow a DUI charge to stay on your record permanently. If you have received a DUI conviction, you may find that insurance rates for your vehicle are much higher, and you may have a hard time finding coverage at all.
Does a DUI stay on your driving record forever?
If you receive a DUI, you were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Because this activity is illegal, you will have to face the consequences of your actions.
Some people wonder whether a DUI charge stays on your record forever. Of course, a DUI will eventually be expunged from your driving record in most states, but some states in the U.S. require DUI charges to stay on your driving record permanently.
A DUI conviction is visible on your driving record for at least five years, depending on your state. After this length of time, if you have not had any additional charges or incidents, your record will be clean, and your DUI will no longer be visible. But some states allow a DUI charge to remain on your record permanently.
States That Include a DUI on Your Record for Five Years
If you live in the following states, your DUI conviction will typically remain on your driving record for five years:
- Rhode Island
In Michigan, Nevada, North Carolina, and North Dakota, laws allow DUI charges to stay on a person’s record for seven years. While five to seven years may sound like a long time to have a blemished record, the truth is it could be a lot worse.
Which states keep a DUI on your record for 10 years or longer?
The majority of states require that DUI convictions remain on a person’s driving record for 10 years. These states include:
- California (10 years)
- Colorado (10 years)
- Connecticut (10 years)
- Florida (75 years)
- Georgia (10 years)
- Iowa (12 years)
- Louisiana (10 years)
- Massachusetts (10 years)
- Minnesota (10 years)
- Missouri (10 years)
- Nebraska (12 years)
- New Hampshire (10 years)
- New Jersey (10 years)
- New Mexico (55 years)
- New York (15 years)
- Oklahoma (10 years)
- Pennsylvania (10 years)
- South Carolina (10 years)
- South Dakota (10 years)
- Utah (10 years)
- Virginia (11 years)
- Washington (15 years)
- West Virginia (10 years)
- Wisconsin (10 years)
- Wyoming (10 years)
Believe it or not, several states allow DUI charges to stay on a driver’s record forever. These states are:
As you can see, while the majority of states allow a DUI to stay on a person’s record for around 10 years, some states require that the DUI never be expunged at all.
A DUI conviction can be devastating for several reasons. Being convicted of driving under the influence can impact a person’s career, family, relationships, and more.
Additionally, one of the most common reasons for someone to be curious about the length of time a DUI stays on their driving record is because they are worried about how that DUI record will affect their insurance rates.
What happens when you get a DUI?
In many states, you will lose your license for a period of time after being convicted of a DUI. However, once you get your license back after several months or a few years, you will be able to drive once you find proper insurance.
Many people who receive a DUI conviction are also required to pay a fine. On a first offense, it is unlikely that a DUI charge will result in jail time. But if someone was seriously injured or killed due to the accident, jail time is likely.
You should check with your state’s department of motor vehicles to learn more specifics about what happens after receiving a DUI. Regardless of the consequences, every state takes a DUI charge very seriously.
Does a DUI impact car insurance rates?
Auto insurance rates will almost always increase after a person gets a DUI. In many cases, car insurance companies will refuse to continue covering a person who was driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
If you have more than one DUI conviction on your record, you may not be able to find appropriate car insurance coverage. But multiple DUI convictions also mean you forfeit your license in many states, so driving at all may be off the table.
Your insurance rates will automatically be higher than average as a high-risk driver. Typically, car insurance rates fluctuate based on many factors, such as the driver’s age, car make and model, and marital status.
Auto insurance rates after a DUI are no different. However, you will find that some companies may be willing to insure you with a lower level of coverage for a lower cost, and some companies will likely be unwilling to cover you at all.
How much is car insurance with a DUI?
Your DUI conviction will impact your car insurance rates, but the amount will vary from one company to another. Car insurance costs can increase by 75% or more after a single DUI conviction on average.
The average annual rate for car insurance after receiving a DUI is nearly $1,500, and this does not include a robust coverage level. In most cases, this is simple liability coverage for high-risk policyholders.
Which companies are the best if I have a DUI?
The most effective way for you to find the best insurance company after a DUI is by shopping around online for quotes. You can use quote tools to compare prices from many different insurance companies at once.
But there are some insurance companies that people trust the most after receiving a DUI. These companies include:
- State Farm
It’s common to see larger companies more willing to cover high-risk drivers like those convicted of a DUI. Many small companies cannot afford the potential risks of having high-risk clients.
DUIs and Driving Records: The Bottom Line
If you have received a DUI conviction, you can expect a significant impact on your life. You may lose your license, owe a hefty fine, and even be required to serve jail time.
Once you have your driver’s license back, you will need to find proper insurance. As a high-risk driver, it's hard to find reasonably priced insurance. Your best bet is to shop for coverage online to find the cheapest option.
A DUI can stay on your record for decades, and you may find that your car insurance rates increase significantly.
The content on this site is offered only as a public service to the web community and does not constitute solicitation or provision of legal advice. This site should not be used as a substitute for obtaining legal advice from an insurance company or an attorney licensed or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. You should always consult a suitably qualified attorney regarding any specific legal problem or matter. The comments and opinions expressed on this site are of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of the insurance company or any individual attorney.