SR-22 insurance in Wyoming: Quotes, rankings and information

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
#1
/14
USAA
4.73 ★★★★★
4.73 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
Excellent
CALL FOR A QUOTE GET A QUOTE COMPARE QUOTES
#2
/14
GEICO
4.11 ★★★★★
4.11 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
Excellent
CALL FOR A QUOTE GET A QUOTE COMPARE QUOTES
#3
/14
4.10 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
Excellent
CALL FOR A QUOTE GET A QUOTE COMPARE QUOTES

Wyoming SR-22 requirements

If you’re a driver who has been convicted of a driving violation in the state of Wyoming, you may be required to file an SR-22 form by the state or the court. An SR22 form certifies that you have the minimum amount of liability insurance required in Wyoming. The form is filed by your car insurance company on your behalf.

If you need an SR-22 in Wyoming, you may have heard the term SR-22 insurance. An SR-22 is not actually a different type of insurance from standard car insurance, but it’s a form that tells the state of Wyoming that you have active auto insurance with at least the required coverage limits. SR22 insurance after a DUI conviction in Wyoming costs an average of 82.5 percent more than car insurance for a driver with a clean record.

In Wyoming, you’re generally required to have SR-22 insurance for a minimum of three years, but your filing period may vary depending on your violation. You must maintain your SR22 insurance policy for the entire duration of your filing period. If your policy lapses, your car insurance company will need to notify the state of Wyoming that you no longer have an active SR22 insurance policy with the company. This may result in additional license suspensions and other penalties. As long as you pay on time and keep a clean driving record, you’ll no longer need SR-22 insurance once your required time is up.

Once you no longer need SR-22 insurance after you’ve completed your filing period, your car insurance rates will most likely decrease, depending on the severity of your conviction.

SR-22 insurance limits in Wyoming

Your SR22 policy must still meet Wyoming liability insurance requirements. You must have at least the following coverage:

  • Liability:
    • $25,000 bodily injury per person
    • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
    • $20,000 in property damage per accident
  • Bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist: -$25,000 per person -$50,000 per accident

If you fail to file an SR-22 form in Wyoming, your vehicle registration may be suspended and you’ll be unable to register a new vehicle.

Who needs SR22 in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, SR22 insurance is required in a few scenarios in order for you to get your license reinstated. SR-22s are required after you’ve committed certain violations with the law. You may even be required to have an SR-22 if you’ve had a series of small violations within a short span of time. You could need SR22 insurance for the following reasons:

  • Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
  • Driving without car insurance
  • Driving with a revoked or suspended license
  • Having repeated traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets
  • Numerous at-fault accidents
  • A fatal at-fault accident or one that results in injuries
  • Reckless or dangerous driving
  • Assignment from a court order
  • Failure to pay fines from tickets
  • Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol test

In Wyoming, you will be unable to drive until you file an SR-22 insurance form.

Wyoming SR-22 insurance rates

Acquiring SR22 insurance in Wyoming will likely increase your car insurance rates, perhaps significantly. If you need SR-22 insurance, you’re considered a high-risk or non-standard driver. The cost of insurance varies based on your company and the state you reside in, but being a high-risk driver will increase your auto insurance rates. There are many other factors that go into the cost of SR-22 insurance such as your age, gender, location, credit score, vehicle type, marital status and so on.

One of the most common reasons drivers need SR-22 insurance is because of a DUI conviction. On average, drivers with one DUI conviction in Wyoming pay $1,856 per year for car insurance. That’s 82.5 percent more than car insurance for a driver with a clean driving record. However, the cost you pay differs significantly based on the company you buy car insurance from. In the table below, you can find average rates for Wyoming drivers who have one DUI conviction from some of the largest companies in the state.

Company Car insurance rate
State Farm $941
Safeco $1,196
Allstate $1,473
Farmers $2,832
Geico $2,837

These rates are based on a 35-year-old single adult with one driver and one vehicle on a policy. The car used was a 2015 Toyota Highlander LEs. Full coverage was used with 100/300/50 limits and a $500 collision and comprehensive deductible. The driver had 1 DUI on their record. The rates displayed should only be used for comparative purposes as individual rates for high-risk insurance in Wyoming will differ. Rate data is provided by Quadrant Information Services.

How to get SR22 insurance in Wyoming

To get SR22 insurance in Wyoming, you’ll need to contact your car insurance company. An SR-22 can only be obtained through an insurance carrier; you can’t file it on your own. If your auto insurance company offers insurance coverage to drivers who need an SR-22, your company can file the form with your state and offer you car insurance coverage. If not, you’ll need to shop for a new insurance policy from a company that offers SR22 insurance coverage.

Even if your company does offer SR22 insurance, it may be a good idea for you to shop around for a new policy. Because SR-22 insurance significantly affects your rates in Wyoming and rates can vary by company, you may want to see if a different company can offer you a better rate.

Use the table at the top of this page to find all the car insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance in Wyoming with a minimum of 25 reviews. If you want to see which companies customers say are the best car insurance companies for SR22 insurance in Wyoming, sort the table by highest rated. You can sort through companies and find the ones you want to get quotes from. To get quotes, click on the orange “Click for quote” button next to the company, call the number available or visit the company’s website.

If you want to read customer reviews of the company, click the company name in the table and you will be directed to the company’s profile page containing information about the company and reviews.

If you’re unable to get SR22 insurance from an insurance company in Wyoming, you can utilize the Wyoming Automobile Insurance Plan to help you find coverage.

SR-22 fees in Wyoming

A processing fee is usually charged for filing an SR22 in Wyoming, but this fee may be included in your insurance premium. The fee you pay for the SR22 insurance form depends on the reason you’re required to have it and the insurance company you choose.

You may be required to pay additional fees depending on your violation. If your Wyoming driver’s license was suspended, you’ll be required to pay a reinstatement fee to the Secretary of State along with potentially a fee for a new license. Those convicted of a DUI will also be required to pay a $50 reinstatement fee to renew your license.

How car insurance rates are calculated

When searching and comparing car insurance quotes, it can be frustrating trying to understand how your insurance rates are calculated. While there is no exact formula that each car insurance company uses when providing you a quote, there are many factors that do contribute to the price you pay for your insurance. Among the factors that car insurers consider are:

  • Your driving record
  • How much you drive
  • Location
  • Age
  • Marital status
  • Gender
  • Your car’s make, model and year
  • Your credit history (in some states)
  • Amount of car insurance coverage (required coverage and optional add-ons, such as collision and comprehensive)

One of the biggest misunderstanding when it comes to insurance rates is that the history of drivers in your area also contributes to how much you pay. For instance, even if you go two years without an accident, if there were a lot of accidents near you recently, your rates might still go up. Why is that the case?

Insurance companies disperse risk across all policyholders so that when it comes time to pay a claim, they have enough money to pay out. But imagine a scenario where they only raised rates for drivers with an accident. For drivers who had an expensive claim, the drivers simply wouldn't be able to afford the raised rates that are based off how much their insurer had to pay after an accident. So instead, insurance companies slightly increase rates across the board to offset the costs, though of course the at-fault driver may see a larger increase.

How much car insurance do I need?

You certainly don’t want to be underinsured or uninsured while staring at a claim after a car accident or other damage to your car. But at the same time, there’s no sense in paying for more coverage than you need, right? So it begs the question: How much car insurance coverage do you actually need?

The answer, as frustrating as it may be, is it depends. For example, someone insuring a brand-new, leased car is likely required to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage, but for someone driving an older car that doesn’t have much value, it may not make sense to purchase optional coverage. Plus, states have different car insurance requirements. There are 12 no-fault states that require its drivers to purchase personal injury protection (PIP).

So when it comes to determining what car insurance coverage and limits you should purchase, it’s important to do your research. Talk with an insurance agent or your insurance company to determine what makes the most sense for your situation.

How to save money on your car insurance

At the end of the day, we’d all like to have the best coverage at a cheap, affordable price. While you never want to sacrifice quality to save a couple of dollars, there are some different ways you can lower your car insurance premium.

Here are six ways you may be able to lower your car insurance rates:

  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies
  • Consider raising your deductibles
  • Pay your car insurance policy in full
  • Try usage-based car insurance
  • Monitor price changes to your policy
  • Shop for better insurance rates

How we rank car insurance companies

Wondering how Clearsurance determines scores for insurance companies? Our algorithm analyzes a range of inputs from our community of unbiased insurance customers, including:

  • Cost
  • Customer Service
  • Overall Experience
  • Claim service
  • Purchasing experience
  • Likelihood to recommend

Guide to understanding car insurance

Whether you’re buying your insurance direct or going through an agent, understanding the different car insurance coverage options is a must. Do you know what is covered by comprehensive coverage? Are you familiar with uninsured motorist coverage? Do you know how a deductible works?

We want to make sure you’re equipped with a proper knowledge of car insurance, so check out our practical guide to understanding car insurance. Looking for more educational information about car insurance? Check out our blog for more information and topics related to car insurance.

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption