SR-22 insurance in Rhode Island: Quotes, rankings and information

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
4.73 ★★★★★
4.73 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
4.13 ★★★★★
4.13 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
4.11 ★★★★★
4.11 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices

Rhode Island SR-22 requirements

As of July 2018, SR-22 insurance is no longer required in Rhode Island. Rhode Island is one of the few states that doesn’t require an SR-22 form. If you commit certain driving violations that suspend your license in Rhode Island, you may face penalties and need to pay a fee rather than file an SR-22 form.

For states that require an SR-22 form, it means the driver committed a driving violation and has been required by their state or court to file it. The SR-22 insurance form is a proof of insurance and it guarantees to the state that you have the minimum amount of insurance coverages required of you and it allows you to drive in the state.

Often times, the SR22 requirement is referred to as SR22 insurance. While SR-22 insurance is not actually a different type of insurance from typical car insurance, the term is often used to describe car insurance coverage for those who need an SR-22 endorsement because an SR22 affects your car insurance coverage and cost.

One of the most common reasons drivers may need SR-22 insurance in other states is because of a DUI conviction. In Rhode Island, instead of getting SR-22 insurance, you’ll face other penalties and requirements if you’ve been convicted of an alcohol or drug-related offense. Rhode Island DUI penalties may include a license suspension as well as other requirements.

Another common reason drivers may need SR22 insurance in other states is for driving without an active car insurance policy. If you’re caught driving without car insurance in Rhode Island, you may face fines, fees and license and registration suspensions.

SR-22 insurance limits in Rhode Island

Although SR-22 insurance is not required in Rhode Island, all drivers are required to have car insurance to legally drive in the state. Rhode Island drivers are required to have at least the following car insurance limits:

  • Liability:
    • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
    • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
    • $25,000 for property damage per accident
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage:
    • $25,000 bodily injury per person
    • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
    • $25,000 for property damage per accident

Driving without car insurance in Rhode Island is against the law and is subject to many fines, fees, and license and vehicle registration suspension.

Who needs an SR22 in Rhode Island?

Even though Rhode Island does not require its drivers to have SR22 insurance after certain convictions, if you’re a driver in Rhode Island and you’re moving to a state that requires SR-22 insurance, you may need SR22 insurance in your new state. SR22 insurance is required in a few scenarios in order for you to get your license reinstated.

SR-22s are required after you’ve committed certain violations with the law. You may even be required to have an SR-22 if you’ve had a series of small violations within a short span of time. You could need SR22 insurance for the following reasons:

  • Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
  • Driving without car insurance
  • Driving with a revoked or suspended license
  • Having repeated traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets
  • Numerous at-fault accidents
  • A fatal at-fault accident or one that results in injuries
  • Reckless or dangerous driving
  • Assignment from a court order
  • Failure to pay fines from tickets
  • Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol test

If you’re moving to a new state and need to get SR-22 insurance, you’ll need to get SR22 insurance from an insurance company that offers SR22 insurance in your new state. The form will need to be filed with your new state rather than with Rhode Island.

Rhode Island SR-22 insurance rates

A DUI is one of the most common reasons drivers need SR22 insurance. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI in Rhode Island, while you won’t be required to get SR-22 insurance, your car insurance rates may still be affected because you will be considered a high-risk driver. On average, drivers in Rhode Island with one DUI pay $2,421, which is 90.5 percent higher than standard drivers with a clean record. In the table below, you can view average insurance rates for drivers in Rhode Island who’ve been convicted of a DUI.

Company Car insurance rate
State Farm $812
Travelers $1,481
Progressive $2,040
Nationwide $2,159
USAA* $1,515
Allstate $2,372
Geico $3,005
Amica $4,317

*USAA is only available to active and former military members and their families.

These rates are based on a 35-year-old single adult with one driver and one vehicle on a policy. The car used was a 2015 Toyota Highlander LEs. Full coverage was used with 100/300/50 limits and a $500 collision and comprehensive deductible. The driver had 1 DUI on their record. The rates displayed should only be used for comparative purposes as individual rates for high-risk insurance in Alabama will differ. Rate data is provided by Quadrant Information Services.

How to get SR22 insurance in Rhode Island

If you’ve been convicted of a driving violation in Rhode Island, you may be considered a high-risk or non-standard driver. This may result in your car insurance rates increasing. Most states require an SR-22 form to be filed by certain high risk drivers guilty of violations, requiring the drivers to get SR-22 insurance.

Even though Rhode Island doesn’t require an SR22 form, drivers with violations typically associated with SR22 insurance may have a harder time finding an insurance company that will sell them a policy. If you’re considered a high-risk driver, it may be a good idea to shop for a new car insurance company in Rhode Island.

Use the table at the top of this page to find all the car insurance companies that offer high-risk insurance in Rhode Island with a minimum of 25 car insurance reviews. If you want to see which companies customers say are the best car insurance companies for high-risk insurance in Rhode Island, sort the table by highest rated. You can sort through companies and find the ones you want to get quotes from. To get quotes, click on the orange “Click for quote” button next to the company, call the number available or visit the company’s website.

If you want to read customer reviews of the company, click the company name in the table and you will be directed to the company’s profile page containing information about the company and reviews.

SR-22 fees in Rhode Island

SR-22 insurance is not required in Rhode Island, therefore there are no fees associated with filing the form. In states that require SR-22, drivers who need SR22 insurance likely have to pay a fee to file the SR22 form in addition to fees to get their license reinstated. You may be required to pay fees and fines if you commit certain violations such as driving without car insurance or being convicted of a DUI.

How car insurance rates are calculated

When searching and comparing car insurance quotes, it can be frustrating trying to understand how your insurance rates are calculated. While there is no exact formula that each car insurance company uses when providing you a quote, there are many factors that do contribute to the price you pay for your insurance. Among the factors that car insurers consider are:

  • Your driving record
  • How much you drive
  • Location
  • Age
  • Marital status
  • Gender
  • Your car’s make, model and year
  • Your credit history (in some states)
  • Amount of car insurance coverage (required coverage and optional add-ons, such as collision and comprehensive)

One of the biggest misunderstanding when it comes to insurance rates is that the history of drivers in your area also contributes to how much you pay. For instance, even if you go two years without an accident, if there were a lot of accidents near you recently, your rates might still go up. Why is that the case?

Insurance companies disperse risk across all policyholders so that when it comes time to pay a claim, they have enough money to pay out. But imagine a scenario where they only raised rates for drivers with an accident. For drivers who had an expensive claim, the drivers simply wouldn't be able to afford the raised rates that are based off how much their insurer had to pay after an accident. So instead, insurance companies slightly increase rates across the board to offset the costs, though of course the at-fault driver may see a larger increase.

How much car insurance do I need?

You certainly don’t want to be underinsured or uninsured while staring at a claim after a car accident or other damage to your car. But at the same time, there’s no sense in paying for more coverage than you need, right? So it begs the question: How much car insurance coverage do you actually need?

The answer, as frustrating as it may be, is it depends. For example, someone insuring a brand-new, leased car is likely required to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage, but for someone driving an older car that doesn’t have much value, it may not make sense to purchase optional coverage. Plus, states have different car insurance requirements. There are 12 no-fault states that require its drivers to purchase personal injury protection (PIP).

So when it comes to determining what car insurance coverage and limits you should purchase, it’s important to do your research. Talk with an insurance agent or your insurance company to determine what makes the most sense for your situation.

How to save money on your car insurance

At the end of the day, we’d all like to have the best coverage at a cheap, affordable price. While you never want to sacrifice quality to save a couple of dollars, there are some different ways you can lower your car insurance premium.

Here are six ways you may be able to lower your car insurance rates:

  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies
  • Consider raising your deductibles
  • Pay your car insurance policy in full
  • Try usage-based car insurance
  • Monitor price changes to your policy
  • Shop for better insurance rates

How we rank car insurance companies

Wondering how Clearsurance determines scores for insurance companies? Our algorithm analyzes a range of inputs from our community of unbiased insurance customers, including:

  • Cost
  • Customer Service
  • Overall Experience
  • Claim service
  • Purchasing experience
  • Likelihood to recommend

Guide to understanding car insurance

Whether you’re buying your insurance direct or going through an agent, understanding the different car insurance coverage options is a must. Do you know what is covered by comprehensive coverage? Are you familiar with uninsured motorist coverage? Do you know how a deductible works?

We want to make sure you’re equipped with a proper knowledge of car insurance, so check out our practical guide to understanding car insurance. Looking for more educational information about car insurance? Check out our blog for more information and topics related to car insurance.

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption