SR-22 insurance in Pennsylvania: Quotes, rankings and information

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
4.72 ★★★★★
4.72 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
Grinnell Mutual
4.16 ★★★★★
4.16 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
4.13 ★★★★★
4.13 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices

Pennsylvania SR-22 requirements

Pennsylvania is among the few states that doesn’t require drivers with certain convictions to file an SR-22 form. Pennsylvania does require all its drivers to have a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage, but it doesn’t require drivers to get SR22 insurance after certain driving violations like most states do. Pennsylvania has other laws in place that determine penalties for certain violations. Additionally, in order to register your car in Pennsylvania, you must submit proof that you have insurance (commonly called proof of financial responsibility).

While drivers who’ve violated driving laws in Pennsylvania won’t have to file an SR-22 form, there are still penalties for these convictions including a DUI and driving without insurance. Penalties can include fines, license suspension, vehicle registration suspension, jail time and other requirements. Additionally, your car insurance rates may increase.

Minimum car insurance limits in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania drivers are required to have the following car insurance limits:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death per person
  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
  • $5,000 for property damage coverage per accident

When you register your car in Pennsylvania, you must submit proof that you have at least this insurance coverage to the DMV. If you drive without car insurance, you could face penalties of a fine, fees, suspension of your vehicle registration and driver’s license. If you have a lapse in insurance coverage, you could also face fees and suspension of your vehicle registration. In order to restore your vehicle registration, proof of insurance must be submitted.

Who needs an SR22 in Pennsylvania?

Even though Pennsylvania doesn’t require its drivers to have SR22 insurance after certain convictions, if you’re a driver in Pennsylvania and you’re moving to a state that requires SR-22 insurance, you may need to have SR22 insurance in your new state. SR22 insurance is required in a few scenarios in order for you to get your license reinstated. SR-22s are required after you’ve committed certain violations with the law. You may even be required to have an SR-22 if you’ve had a series of small violations within a short span of time. You could need SR22 insurance for the following reasons:

  • Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
  • Driving without car insurance
  • Driving with a revoked or suspended license
  • Having repeated traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets
  • Numerous at-fault accidents
  • A fatal at-fault accident or one that results in injuries
  • Reckless or dangerous driving
  • Assignment from a court order
  • Failure to pay fines from tickets
  • Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol test

If you’re moving to a new state and need to get SR-22 insurance, you’ll need to get SR22 insurance from an insurance company that offers SR22 insurance in your new state. The form will need to be filed with your new state rather than with Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania SR-22 insurance rates

A DUI is one of the most common reasons drivers need SR-22 insurance. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania, while you won’t be required to get SR-22 insurance, your car insurance rates may still be affected because you will be considered a high-risk driver. Drivers who’ve been convicted of a DUI pay an average of $1,641 per year for car insurance, which is 60.5 percent higher than standard car insurance in Pennsylvania. In the table below, you can view average insurance rates for drivers in Pennsylvania who’ve been convicted of a DUI from some of the largest companies in the state.

Company Car insurance rate
USAA* $1,142
Erie $1,219
Progressive $1,422
Allstate $1,429
State Farm $1,627
Geico $1,865
Auto-Owners $1,893
Nationwide $2,211
The Hartford $2,476

*USAA is only available to active and former military members and their families.

These rates are based on a 35-year-old single adult with one driver and one vehicle on a policy. The car used was a 2015 Toyota Highlander LEs. Full coverage was used with 100/300/50 limits and a $500 collision and comprehensive deductible. The driver had 1 DUI on their record. The rates displayed should only be used for comparative purposes as individual rates for high-risk insurance in Pennsylvania will differ. Rate data is provided by Quadrant Information Services.

While car insurance policies with a DUI are expensive, if you maintain your car insurance while keeping a clean driving record, your rates may go down over time.

How to get SR22 insurance in Pennsylvania

Even though Pennsylvania doesn’t require an SR22 form, drivers with violations typically associated with SR22 insurance may have a harder time finding an insurance company that will sell them a policy. If you’re considered a high-risk driver, it may be a good idea to shop for a new car insurance company in Pennsylvania.

Use the table at the top of this page to find all the car insurance companies that offer high-risk insurance in Pennsylvania with a minimum of 25 car insurance reviews. If you want to see which companies customers say are the best car insurance companies for high-risk insurance in Pennsylvania, sort the table by highest rated. You can sort through companies and find the ones you want to get quotes from. To get quotes, click on the orange “Click for quote” button next to the company, call the number available or visit the company’s website.

If you want to read customer reviews of the company, click the company name in the table and you will be directed to the company’s profile page containing information about the company and reviews.

SR-22 fees in Pennsylvania

SR-22 insurance is not required in Pennsylvania, therefore there are no fees associated with the form.

Even though Pennsylvania doesn’t require drivers to have SR22 insurance following certain convictions, there are still fees and penalties for breaking the law. DUI’s are serious convictions with strict penalties. For your first DUI offense in Pennsylvania, you could be required to pay a $300 fine, be on probation for up to 6 months and participate in alcohol safety education. Subsequent offenses mean an increased fine amount up to $5,000, license suspension, jail time and installing an ignition interlock device. There are also heavier fines and stricter penalties if your blood alcohol concentration is between .10% and .159% or even above 16%. Fines can be up to $10,000.

It’s illegal to drive without insurance in Pennsylvania. If you do, there are penalties and fines enforced. The minimum fine of driving without insurance in Pennsylvania is $300. If you license and/or vehicle registration are suspended, you’ll need to pay restoration fees for each in order to get your driving privileges restored. Restoration fees vary based on your circumstances.

How car insurance rates are calculated

When searching and comparing car insurance quotes, it can be frustrating trying to understand how your insurance rates are calculated. While there is no exact formula that each car insurance company uses when providing you a quote, there are many factors that do contribute to the price you pay for your insurance. Among the factors that car insurers consider are:

  • Your driving record
  • How much you drive
  • Location
  • Age
  • Marital status
  • Gender
  • Your car’s make, model and year
  • Your credit history (in some states)
  • Amount of car insurance coverage (required coverage and optional add-ons, such as collision and comprehensive)

One of the biggest misunderstanding when it comes to insurance rates is that the history of drivers in your area also contributes to how much you pay. For instance, even if you go two years without an accident, if there were a lot of accidents near you recently, your rates might still go up. Why is that the case?

Insurance companies disperse risk across all policyholders so that when it comes time to pay a claim, they have enough money to pay out. But imagine a scenario where they only raised rates for drivers with an accident. For drivers who had an expensive claim, the drivers simply wouldn't be able to afford the raised rates that are based off how much their insurer had to pay after an accident. So instead, insurance companies slightly increase rates across the board to offset the costs, though of course the at-fault driver may see a larger increase.

How much car insurance do I need?

You certainly don’t want to be underinsured or uninsured while staring at a claim after a car accident or other damage to your car. But at the same time, there’s no sense in paying for more coverage than you need, right? So it begs the question: How much car insurance coverage do you actually need?

The answer, as frustrating as it may be, is it depends. For example, someone insuring a brand-new, leased car is likely required to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage, but for someone driving an older car that doesn’t have much value, it may not make sense to purchase optional coverage. Plus, states have different car insurance requirements. There are 12 no-fault states that require its drivers to purchase personal injury protection (PIP).

So when it comes to determining what car insurance coverage and limits you should purchase, it’s important to do your research. Talk with an insurance agent or your insurance company to determine what makes the most sense for your situation.

How to save money on your car insurance

At the end of the day, we’d all like to have the best coverage at a cheap, affordable price. While you never want to sacrifice quality to save a couple of dollars, there are some different ways you can lower your car insurance premium.

Here are six ways you may be able to lower your car insurance rates:

  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies
  • Consider raising your deductibles
  • Pay your car insurance policy in full
  • Try usage-based car insurance
  • Monitor price changes to your policy
  • Shop for better insurance rates

How we rank car insurance companies

Wondering how Clearsurance determines scores for insurance companies? Our algorithm analyzes a range of inputs from our community of unbiased insurance customers, including:

  • Cost
  • Customer Service
  • Overall Experience
  • Claim service
  • Purchasing experience
  • Likelihood to recommend

Guide to understanding car insurance

Whether you’re buying your insurance direct or going through an agent, understanding the different car insurance coverage options is a must. Do you know what is covered by comprehensive coverage? Are you familiar with uninsured motorist coverage? Do you know how a deductible works?

We want to make sure you’re equipped with a proper knowledge of car insurance, so check out our practical guide to understanding car insurance. Looking for more educational information about car insurance? Check out our blog for more information and topics related to car insurance.

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption