SR-22 insurance in Oregon: Quotes, rankings and information

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
4.73 ★★★★★
4.73 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
4.11 ★★★★★
4.11 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices
4.10 ★★★★★
loading rate
Would recommend to a friend
loading rate
Rated Prices

Oregon SR-22 requirements

If your driver’s license was suspended in Oregon, chances are you’ll be required to file an SR-22 form by your state or court. SR22 forms are required if you’ve committed a certain driving violation, such as a DUI or driving without car insurance. An SR-22 form is filed with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) by your insurance company. It proves to the state of Oregon that you have at least the minimum required car insurance coverage and is often called a proof of future responsibility.

If you’re required to file an SR22 in Oregon, you’ve likely heard the term SR-22 insurance. While SR-22 insurance is not actually a different type of insurance from typical car insurance, the term is often used to describe car insurance coverage for those who need an SR-22 endorsement because an SR22 affects your car insurance coverage and cost. In Oregon, SR-22 insurance after a DUI conviction costs an average of 61.5 percent more than car insurance for standard drivers.

Typically, SR22 insurance is required for a period of three years. However, your required filing period can vary based on your conviction. If you need to have SR-22 insurance in Oregon, you’ll need to maintain your SR22 insurance policy for the entire duration of your filing period. If your policy cancels and you have a lapse in SR22 insurance coverage, you could face penalties that may include fines and additional license and/or vehicle registration suspension.

If you maintain your Oregon SR-22 insurance for your required filing period and keep a clean driving record, you won’t need to file the form any longer after your period is up. This could result in your coverage and car insurance rates returning to normal, depending on your violation. DUIs may stay on your record for much longer.

SR-22 insurance limits in Oregon

If you’re required to have SR-22 insurance in Oregon, you’ll be required to have at least the following coverage:

  • Liability:
    • $25,000 bodily injury per person
    • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
    • $20,000 property damage per accident
  • Personal injury protection: -$15,000 per person
  • Bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist:
    • $25,000 per person
    • $50,000 per accident

Who needs an SR22 in Oregon?

In Oregon, SR22 insurance is required in a few scenarios in order for you to get your license reinstated. SR-22s are required after you’ve committed certain violations with the law. You may even be required to have an SR-22 if you’ve had a series of small violations within a short span of time. You could need SR22 insurance in Oregon for the following reasons:

  • Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
  • Conviction for actual physical control while under the influence
  • Driving with a revoked or suspended license
  • Driving or getting into a car accident without car insurance
  • Civil judgement that emerges from a car accident
  • Conviction for manslaughter in which a motor vehicle is used
  • Conviction for negligent homicide in which a motor vehicle is used
  • Conviction for a felony in which a motor vehicle is used

It’s illegal in Oregon to drive with a suspended driver’s license. You may be required to get SR-22 insurance after your license has been suspended in order to regain your driving privileges.

Oregon SR-22 insurance rates

If you need SR-22 insurance, your car insurance rates in Oregon may increase significantly. When you’re required to have an SR22, you get placed into the category of a high-risk or non-standard driver. High-risk drivers tend to pay the highest car insurance rates, but the cost of car insurance can vary by company and by state. There are many other factors that go into the cost of SR-22 insurance in Oregon, such as your age, gender, location, credit score, vehicle type, marital status and so on.

One of the most common reasons drivers need SR-22 insurance is because of a DUI conviction. On average, drivers with one DUI conviction in Oregon pay $1,710 per year for car insurance. That’s 61.5 percent more than car insurance for a driver with a clean driving record. However, the cost you pay differs significantly based on the company you buy car insurance from. In the table below, you can find average rates for Oregon drivers who have one DUI conviction from some of the largest companies in the state.

Company Car insurance rate
Progressive $1,141
Farmers $1,332
USAA* $1,515
State Farm $1,528
Travelers $1,581
Geico $1,606
Safeco $1,795
Allstate $2,169
Nationwide $2,304
American Family $2,643

*USAA is only available to active and former military members and their families.

These rates are based on a 35-year-old single adult with one driver and one vehicle on a policy. The car used was a 2015 Toyota Highlander LEs. Full coverage was used with 100/300/50 limits and a $500 collision and comprehensive deductible. The driver had 1 DUI on their record. The rates displayed should only be used for comparative purposes as individual rates for high-risk insurance in Alabama will differ. Rate data is provided by Quadrant Information Services.

How to get SR22 insurance in Oregon

In order to get SR22 insurance in Oregon, you need to contact your car insurance company. You need to go through an insurance company to get the SR-22 form filed with the Oregon DMV. You can’t file the form on your own. Not all insurance companies offer SR-22 insurance. If your current company doesn’t offer it, you’ll need to shop around for a new insurer that does.

Even if your company does offer SR22 insurance, it may be a good idea for you to shop around for a new policy. Because SR-22 insurance significantly affects your rates in Oregon and rates can vary by company, you may want to see if a different company can offer you a better rate.

Use the table at the top of this page to find all the car insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance in Oregon with at least 25 car insurance reviews. If you want to see which companies customers say are the best car insurance companies for SR22 insurance in Oregon, sort the table by highest rated. You can sort through companies and find the ones you want to get quotes from. To get quotes, click on the orange “Click for quote” button next to the company, call the number available or visit the company’s website.

If you want to read customer reviews of the company, click the company name in the table and you will be directed to the company’s profile page containing information about the company and reviews.

SR-22 fees in Oregon

If you need SR22 insurance, you should expect your car insurance rates to increase, perhaps significantly. Unfortunately, there are a number of other fees you may be required to pay as well. Most likely, your insurance company will charge you a fee to file the SR22 on top of your car insurance rates. This fee varies by company but tends to be between $15 and $30.

If your license was suspended or revoked, you’ll have to pay a reinstatement fee, which can vary based on your conviction. Additionally, you may have to pay fees and fines depending on the violation your committed. For example, if you’ve been convicted of a DUI, there are many penalties that can include fees.

How car insurance rates are calculated

When searching and comparing car insurance quotes, it can be frustrating trying to understand how your insurance rates are calculated. While there is no exact formula that each car insurance company uses when providing you a quote, there are many factors that do contribute to the price you pay for your insurance. Among the factors that car insurers consider are:

  • Your driving record
  • How much you drive
  • Location
  • Age
  • Marital status
  • Gender
  • Your car’s make, model and year
  • Your credit history (in some states)
  • Amount of car insurance coverage (required coverage and optional add-ons, such as collision and comprehensive)

One of the biggest misunderstanding when it comes to insurance rates is that the history of drivers in your area also contributes to how much you pay. For instance, even if you go two years without an accident, if there were a lot of accidents near you recently, your rates might still go up. Why is that the case?

Insurance companies disperse risk across all policyholders so that when it comes time to pay a claim, they have enough money to pay out. But imagine a scenario where they only raised rates for drivers with an accident. For drivers who had an expensive claim, the drivers simply wouldn't be able to afford the raised rates that are based off how much their insurer had to pay after an accident. So instead, insurance companies slightly increase rates across the board to offset the costs, though of course the at-fault driver may see a larger increase.

How much car insurance do I need?

You certainly don’t want to be underinsured or uninsured while staring at a claim after a car accident or other damage to your car. But at the same time, there’s no sense in paying for more coverage than you need, right? So it begs the question: How much car insurance coverage do you actually need?

The answer, as frustrating as it may be, is it depends. For example, someone insuring a brand-new, leased car is likely required to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage, but for someone driving an older car that doesn’t have much value, it may not make sense to purchase optional coverage. Plus, states have different car insurance requirements. There are 12 no-fault states that require its drivers to purchase personal injury protection (PIP).

So when it comes to determining what car insurance coverage and limits you should purchase, it’s important to do your research. Talk with an insurance agent or your insurance company to determine what makes the most sense for your situation.

How to save money on your car insurance

At the end of the day, we’d all like to have the best coverage at a cheap, affordable price. While you never want to sacrifice quality to save a couple of dollars, there are some different ways you can lower your car insurance premium.

Here are six ways you may be able to lower your car insurance rates:

  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies
  • Consider raising your deductibles
  • Pay your car insurance policy in full
  • Try usage-based car insurance
  • Monitor price changes to your policy
  • Shop for better insurance rates

How we rank car insurance companies

Wondering how Clearsurance determines scores for insurance companies? Our algorithm analyzes a range of inputs from our community of unbiased insurance customers, including:

  • Cost
  • Customer Service
  • Overall Experience
  • Claim service
  • Purchasing experience
  • Likelihood to recommend

Guide to understanding car insurance

Whether you’re buying your insurance direct or going through an agent, understanding the different car insurance coverage options is a must. Do you know what is covered by comprehensive coverage? Are you familiar with uninsured motorist coverage? Do you know how a deductible works?

We want to make sure you’re equipped with a proper knowledge of car insurance, so check out our practical guide to understanding car insurance. Looking for more educational information about car insurance? Check out our blog for more information and topics related to car insurance.

Save Money by Comparing Insurance Quotes
Compare Free Insurance Quotes Instantly
ZIP Code must be filled out!
 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption