SR-22 insurance in Nevada: Quotes, rankings and information
Nevada SR-22 requirements
In Nevada, you may need to file an SR-22 if you committed a certain driving violation and were required by the state or court to have it. An SR22 is a form that is filed with your state and it guarantees to the state that you have an active insurance policy with at least the minimum amount of liability car insurance coverage required in Nevada. An SR22 is required for many high-risk drivers. If your driving license has been suspended in Nevada, you might be required to get SR-22 insurance to get it reinstated.
You’ve likely heard the term SR-22 insurance if you’re required to file an SR22 in Nevada. While SR-22 insurance is not actually a different type of insurance from typical car insurance, the term is often used to describe car insurance coverage for those who need an SR-22 endorsement because an SR22 affects your car insurance coverage and cost. In Nevada, SR-22 insurance after a DUI conviction costs an average of 87.5 percent more than car insurance for standard drivers.
Typically, an SR22 is required for three years in Nevada, but the filing period can depend on the violation you committed. Throughout your filing period, you must maintain continuous SR22 insurance coverage. There are penalties if you let it lapse.
If you fail to pay premiums and the SR-22 policy lapses or you fail to renew the insurance after the first year, the insurer will notify the DMV. This can result in a license suspension and you’ll have to re-start the three year SR22 filing period.
SR22 insurance limits in Nevada
If you’re required to have SR-22 insurance in Nevada, you’ll be required to have at least the following coverage:
- $25,000 for one person’s bodily injury or death
- $50,000 for more bodily injury or death in the accident
- $20,000 for damage to property in an accident
Who needs SR22 insurance in Nevada?
Several situations can result in your driver’s license being suspended, resulting in an SR-22 insurance requirement to reinstate it. You could need SR22 insurance for the following reasons:
- Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
- Too many driving violations accumulated over the past one-year period
- Collision with a pedestrian or cyclist
- Failure to pay traffic fines
- Failure to produce insurance proof and/or failure to carry adequate insurance (If you let your car insurance lapse for more than 90 days in Nevada, you’ll be required to have SR-22 insurance)
- Speeding/racing on roads
- Failure to pay child support as required by a court
If your license was suspended or revoked in Nevada and you’re required to have SR22 insurance, you won’t be able to reinstate your driving privileges until you get SR-22 insurance.
Nevada SR-22 insurance rates
If you need SR-22 insurance in Nevada, your car insurance rates may increase significantly. When you’re required to have an SR22, you get placed into the category of a high-risk or non-standard driver](blog/what-is-non-standard-auto-insurance). High-risk drivers tend to pay the highest car insurance rates, but the cost of car insurance can vary by company. The overall cost of SR-22 car insurance coverage is determined based on several factors, including your age, gender, vehicle type, location, marital status, and so on.
One of the most common reasons drivers need SR-22 insurance is because of a DUI conviction. On average, drivers with one DUI conviction in Nevada pay $2,284 per year for car insurance. That’s 87.5 percent more than car insurance for a driver with a clean driving record. However, the cost you pay differs significantly based on the company you buy car insurance from. In the table below, you can find average rates for Nevada drivers who have one DUI conviction from some of the largest companies in the state.
|Company||Car insurance rate|
|CSAA Insurance Group||$1,946|
*USAA is only available to active and former military members and their families.
These rates are based on a 35-year-old single adult with one driver and one vehicle on a policy. The car used was a 2015 Toyota Highlander LEs. Full coverage was used with 100/300/50 limits and a $500 collision and comprehensive deductible. The driver had 1 DUI on their record. The rates displayed should only be used for comparative purposes as individual rates for high-risk insurance in Nevada will differ. Rate data is provided by Quadrant Information Services.
How to get SR22 insurance in Nevada
To get an SR-22 in Nevada, you have to go through an insurance company. You can’t file the SR-22 form on your own. Shop around for an insurer who offers this kind of insurance and compare rates to find an affordable policy. Not all insurance companies offer SR22 insurance and SR22 rates vary greatly from company to company.
Use the table at the top of this page to find all the car insurance companies that offer SR-22 insurance in Nevada with a minimum of 25 reviews. If you want to see which companies customers say are the best car insurance companies for SR22 insurance in Nevada, sort the table by highest rated. You can sort through companies and find the ones you want to get quotes from. To get quotes, click on the orange “Click for quote” button next to the company, call the number available, or visit the company’s website.
If you want to read customer reviews of the company, click the company name in the table and you will be directed to the company’s profile page containing information about the company and reviews.
SR-22 fees in Nevada
Not only does an SR-22 insurance cause your car insurance rates to increase, but there are also a number of fees you may be required to pay. When you’re required to file an SR-22 in Nevada, you’ll likely have to pay a fee to your insurance company to file it. The fee ranges from $20 to $50 depending on your insurance company.
In addition to the fee to file an SR22, there are also a number of fees you’ll be required to pay depending on the offense you committed that required SR22 insurance. If you let your car insurance lapse for more than 90 days, you’ll be required to have SR22 insurance and your license will be suspended. You’ll have to pay a fee to have your license reinstated. The fee is $75 plus the cost of your license and other fees depending on your lapse.
A DUI is a very serious and costly offense. In Nevada, there are many penalties and fines associated with a DUI conviction including jail, vehicle impounded, civil penalty fee, DUI education, chemical test fee, license reinstatement fee and so on. On top of that, the fine for a DUI ranges from $400 to $1,000.
How car insurance rates are calculated
When searching and comparing car insurance quotes, it can be frustrating trying to understand how your insurance rates are calculated. While there is no exact formula that each car insurance company uses when providing you a quote, there are many factors that do contribute to the price you pay for your insurance. Among the factors that car insurers consider are:
- Your driving record
- How much you drive
- Marital status
- Your car’s make, model and year
- Your credit history (in some states)
- Amount of car insurance coverage (required coverage and optional add-ons, such as collision and comprehensive)
One of the biggest misunderstanding when it comes to insurance rates is that the history of drivers in your area also contributes to how much you pay. For instance, even if you go two years without an accident, if there were a lot of accidents near you recently, your rates might still go up. Why is that the case?
Insurance companies disperse risk across all policyholders so that when it comes time to pay a claim, they have enough money to pay out. But imagine a scenario where they only raised rates for drivers with an accident. For drivers who had an expensive claim, the drivers simply wouldn't be able to afford the raised rates that are based off how much their insurer had to pay after an accident. So instead, insurance companies slightly increase rates across the board to offset the costs, though of course the at-fault driver may see a larger increase.
How much car insurance do I need?
You certainly don’t want to be underinsured or uninsured while staring at a claim after a car accident or other damage to your car. But at the same time, there’s no sense in paying for more coverage than you need, right? So it begs the question: How much car insurance coverage do you actually need?
The answer, as frustrating as it may be, is it depends. For example, someone insuring a brand-new, leased car is likely required to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage, but for someone driving an older car that doesn’t have much value, it may not make sense to purchase optional coverage. Plus, states have different car insurance requirements. There are 12 no-fault states that require its drivers to purchase personal injury protection (PIP).
So when it comes to determining what car insurance coverage and limits you should purchase, it’s important to do your research. Talk with an insurance agent or your insurance company to determine what makes the most sense for your situation.
How to save money on your car insurance
At the end of the day, we’d all like to have the best coverage at a cheap, affordable price. While you never want to sacrifice quality to save a couple of dollars, there are some different ways you can lower your car insurance premium.
Here are six ways you may be able to lower your car insurance rates:
- Bundle your car insurance with other policies
- Consider raising your deductibles
- Pay your car insurance policy in full
- Try usage-based car insurance
- Monitor price changes to your policy
- Shop for better insurance rates
How we rank car insurance companies
Wondering how Clearsurance determines scores for insurance companies? Our algorithm analyzes a range of inputs from our community of unbiased insurance customers, including:
- Customer Service
- Overall Experience
- Claim service
- Purchasing experience
- Likelihood to recommend
Guide to understanding car insurance
Whether you’re buying your insurance direct or going through an agent, understanding the different car insurance coverage options is a must. Do you know what is covered by comprehensive coverage? Are you familiar with uninsured motorist coverage? Do you know how a deductible works?
We want to make sure you’re equipped with a proper knowledge of car insurance, so check out our practical guide to understanding car insurance. Looking for more educational information about car insurance? Check out our blog for more information and topics related to car insurance.